01 April 2015

The ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 Revisions

​Both the ISO9001 and ISO14001 standards are currently being revised to a structure which is called "Annex SL".  ISO announced in 2012 that it would follow a common Annex SL format for all of its future standards and revisions.

The common format will be a great benefit to combined management systems.  Anyone who has ever written a manual for an integrated management system will know the Organisation for Standardisation did not use standard clause numbers for equivalent elements across the standards.   While the structures for ISO14001 and the safety standards (such as AS/NZS4801 and OHSAS18001) were already similar, it will help integrated systems to see ISO9001 with the same structure.   This will simplify integrated QSE systems, make training easier and even make it easier to write an audit report for combined systems.

​According to ISO, that structure will follow these clauses:
Clause 1 - Scope
Clause 2 - Normative references
Clause 3 - Terms and definitions
Clause 4 - Context of the organization
Clause 5 - Leadership
Clause 6 - Planning
Clause 7 - Support
Clause 8 - Operation
Clause 9 - Performance evaluation
Clause 10 - Improvement

There will also be some standardising of terms and definitions across the standards with the change to Annex SL.

The Annex SL structure is closer to the current ISO14001 standard (and the safety standards) and ISO9001 systems will see a much larger change.  The basic elements of the standards will remain much the same as previously, so your corrective action, internal audit, document and record control requirements are not likely to see major changes on their own.

ISO has also said the new structure recognises the need to understand risk in the context of management systems.  The environmental & safety standards, already followed a risk based approach (in practice, even if it was not explicit in the standards), so ISO9001 will also have a larger adaptation to cover risk.

UPDATE - ISO announced in September that both of these standards have now be published.